Agenda Item 5

Partnership



Membership Update

Date of meeting27 June 2025Date of report17 June 2025

Report by Chief Executive / Partnership Secretary

1. Object of report

To confirm to the Partnership the outcome of the recent Recruitment Committee activity, noting the recent Cabinet Secretary for Transport agreement to the appointments of Appointed Members.

2. Background

Members will recall the previous agreement to establish a Recruitment Committee to undertake all stages of recruitment to successfully appoint non-elected Partnership members.

Previous reports have outlined the process, including the advert and recruitment pack for candidates.

3. Current Position

The Recruitment Committee recommended the approval of four candidates following a comprehensive and extensive recruitment campaign. Approval to the appointments was subsequently sought and confirmed by the Cabinet Secretary for Transport.

To confirm, SPT now has the maximum number of Appointed Members allowed by statute; with a broad range of skills and experience:

- Jenna Dickson
- Geoff Duke
- Anne Follin
- Nicola Graham
- Moray Macdonald
- Ed McGrachan
- Scott Prentice
- Pam Turton
- Andrew Walters

Attached to this report as Appendix 1 are short biographies of all new Appointed Members for information. All Appointed Members have been allocated to the Committees to ensure balance of skills and interest.

Given SPT now has a full complement of Appointed Members, it is proposed also to increase the number of members on Audit and Standards to 12; an increase of 1, thus ensuring a full balance across all committees. Committee Allocation is attached to this report as Appendix 2.

In addition, initial Appointed Member training has been undertaken, including:

- An introduction to SPT and current priorities
- Subway tour and update on Subway Modernisation
- "On Board" Board member roles and responsibilities training session

These induction sessions will be supplemented by additional briefings over the next few months, which will as always be available to all Partnership members.

4. Partnership action

The Partnership is recommended to:

- (i) note the work of the Recruitment Committee successfully concluding;
- (ii) note the recent approval of the Cabinet Secretary for Transport to the Appointed Member appointments;
- (iii) welcome all new Appointed Members to the Board of SPT, noting the appointments are for a period of 4 years; and
- (iv) agree to increase the maximum number of members on the Audit and Standards Committee to 12.

5. Consequences

Policy consequences	None directly from the report
Legal consequences	None directly from the report
Financial consequences	None directly from the report
Personnel consequences	None directly from the report
Equalities consequences	SPT has complied with all equality duties
Risk consequences	None directly from the report
Climate Change, Adaptation & Carbon consequences	None

Name	Lesley Aird	Name	Valerie Davidson
Title	Director of Finance & Corporate Support	Title	Chief Executive

For further information, please contact Valerie Davidson, Chief Executive at Valerie.Davidson@spt.co.uk

APPENDIX 1

SPT NEW APPOINTED MEMBER BIOGRAPHIES May 2025

Geoff Duke

A retired Chartered Civil Engineer – Geoff has over 40 years' experience in the planning, development and integration of infrastructure and services to facilitate sustainable economic growth, within a framework of strategic land use planning. While the majority of his career has been in transport planning, Geoff also has experience in sustainability and economic development.

Moray Macdonald

Previously Managing Director at Instinctif Partners and Chair of Sustrans – Moray is a public affairs and communications specialist who has led large organisations across the UK and Europe in executive and non-executive roles, with the betterment and promotion of public transport and active travel being core to his work.

Scott Prentice

Strategy & Planning Director, ScotRail – Scott is a Director with a broad range of technical and commercial competence gained in the private and public sectors of the UK rail industry. Scott has successfully delivered large and complex rail projects for Transport Scotland, Network Rail and ScotRail and is skilled at "sense checking" modelling outputs and financial proposals whilst maintaining outputs.

Pam Turton

Head of Transport Strategy, Bath & North East Somerset Council – Pam has extensive experience of successfully delivering significant infrastructure projects and leading communication and engagement campaigns to change behaviours and deliver positive outcomes. As Senior Responsible Officer for the Portsmouth Charging Clean Air Zone (CAZ), Pam directed consultant and cross Council teams to deliver this multi-million-pound charging CAZ and exceeded the delivery timescales, reducing the expected programme by 6 months. Ms Turton is also a non-exec Director on Reading Buses.

Strategy & Programmes up to 17 LAs represented: 10			Operations up to 16 LAs represented: 7			Personnel up to 17 LAs represented: 7			Audit and Standards 12 LAs represented: 7			
	Area	Party		Area	Party		Area	Party		Area	Party	
			Jenna Dickson	-	-				Jenna Dickson	-	-	
Geoff Duke	-	-				Geoff Duke	-	-				
Anne Follin	-	-			1	Anne Follin	-	-			1	
Nicola Graham	-	-			1	Nicola Graham	-	-			1	
			Moray Macdonald	-	-				Moray Macdonald	-	-	
Ed McGrachan	-	-	-						Ed McGrachan	-	-	
			Scott Prentice	-	-	Scott Prentice	-	-			1	
			Pam Turton	-	-	Pam Turton	-	-				
Andrew Walters	-	-						-	Andrew Walters	-	-	
			Alex Allison	SLC	Con					SLC	Con	
		-			SNP	Kan Androw		SNP	Alex Allison	SLU	Con	
Gordon Blair	^ 0 D	SNP	Ken Andrew	GCC	SINF	Ken Andrew	GCC	SINF	Gordon Blair	1 ° D	SNP	
Gordon Blair	A&B	SINF	Marina Davlin		Lab	Marine Devilie		Lab	Gordon Biali	A&B	SINF	
Otratian Daman OU		SNP	Maureen Devlin	SLC GCC	SNP	Maureen Devlin	SLC	Lab SNP	+			
Stephen Dornan CH.	GCC	SNP	Stephen Dornan CH.	GUU	SINF	Stephen Dornan CH.	GCC	SINF	A1 11		SNP	
Neal Ingram	EAC	SINF							Neal Ingram	EAC	SINF	
		Grn	Helen Loughran	NLC	Lab	Helen Loughran	NLC	Lab			Grn	
Christy Mearns	GCC	-					_		Christy Mearns	GCC		
Malcolm Mitchell	GCC	SNP	+						Malcolm Mitchell	GCC	SNP	
Alan Moir	EDC	Lab	Alan Moir	EDC	Lab	Alan Moir	EDC	Lab			_	
Owen O'Donnell	ERC	Lab				Owen O'Donnell	ERC	Lab			<u> </u>	
Lawrence O'Neill	WDC	Lab	<u> </u>		<u> </u>				Lawrence O'Neill	WDC	Lab	
			Donald Reid	NAC	Lab				Donald Reid	NAC	Lab	
John Ross	SLC	SNP				John Ross	SLC	SNP				
			Roza Salih	GCC	SNP	Roza Salih	GCC	SNP				
			Adam Smith	NLC	SNP	Adam Smith	NLC	SNP				
			Andy Steel	RC	SNP	Andy Steel	RC	SNP				
Duncan Townson	SAC	Lab							Duncan Townson	SAC	Lab	
Sandy Watson	NLC	Con			T	Sandy Watson	NLC	Con			T	
David Wilson	IC	Con	David Wilson	IC	Con	David Wilson	IC	Con				